Andrew Smith Takes Lavonia Cash

Lavonia, Georgia - 2017 Series Champion and all-time leading winner Andrew Smith added yet another victory to his impressive win record at SCDRA events on Saturday at Lavonia Speedway. Smith clicked off his twelfth Series triumph since 2016 and his fourth of 2020. The victory in the 50-lap FWD Winter Nationals was worth $5000.

Smith fell into an immediate battle for the 2nd position with Josh Adkins at the drop of the green flag as overall fastest qualifier and most recent SCDRA victor John Windham grabbed the lead. Smith was eventually able to dispose of Adkins and moved up to challenge Windham. Smith was able to pull alongside the race-long leader on several occasions but each time Windham would thwart the charge.

Finally with the laps starting to wane Smith was able to beat Windham to the line on lap 41 of 50. Smith was able to drive away from the field while Windham retired four laps later suffering from overeating problems. Josh Adkins was able to hold off the late race charge of his cousin Dennis Adkins. John Hooks and Roger Adkins rounded out the top five finishers.

Windham's DNF allowed Smith to regain the Series points lead headed into the final event of the campaign, February's Winter Freeze XI at Screven Motor Speedway. Smith leads Windham by a mere 3 points going into the highest paying race in Series history - $17,000. Smith has captured many wins at Screven over the years but Windham is the most recent winner at the red clay oval in Sylvania, Georgia. Both Josh and Dennis Adkins are also within striking distance of the title but they would need both Smith and Windham to meet with trouble.

SCDRA / Lavonia Speedway Results
December 12th

1. Andrew Smith
2. Josh Adkins
3. Dennis Adkins
4. John Hooks
5. Roger Adkins
6. Joey Kelly
7. Jonathan Sarratt
8. Jacob Bright
9. John Whisnant
10. Wesley Miller
11. Robert Nicklow
12. Kevin Saam
13. Brandon Bond
14. John Windham
15. Shannon Barnhill
16. Cale Deese
17. Casey Spears
18. Randall Cromwell
19. Robert Frohnapfel
20. Keylon Tate
21. Alan Carter
22. Carson Laws
23. Chelsea L'Hullier
24. Payne Pickles
DNS - Jeff Erb

DNS - Lee Hutchinson

DNS - Sam McKinney

DNS - James Klaucke

DNS - Curt Brady

DNS - Reggie Twing

DNS - Sean Rice

DNS - Troy Hill

DNS - Troy Owensby

DNS - Jackson Robinson

Next event: February 4-6, 2021 Screven Motor Speedway - Sylvania, GA - $17,000 to win Winter Freeze XI


The Sport Compact Dirt Racing Association would like to recognize all of their partners including Arizona Sport Shirts, Big A's Custom Graphics, ButlerBuilt, Dirt Scenes, Jason Waters Tuning, Joie of Seating, KELCAR Motorsports Media, PPM Racing Products,, Rugged Radios, Screven Motor Speedway, Simpson Race Products, Thomas Clarke Performance Web Design and Velocita USA. We encourage you to support those that support racing.


For more information on the Sport Compact Dirt Racing Association visit or call Kelley Carlton at 864-871-1442. The SCDRA is also on Facebook @scdraracing and on Twitter @scdraracing .