Florida's Payne Pickles Becomes Newest SCDRA Winner at Screven Motor Speedway

Sylvania, Georgia - Suwannee, Florida driver Payne Pickles grabbed his first career SCDRA victory after overtaking race-long leader Ivan Valverde near the midpoint of the 30 lap feature event. Pickles then held off red-hot Andrew Smith over the closing laps to take home the $5000 in Screven Motor Speedway's 21st Annual Rebel Yell.

Eddie McGrew of Travelers Rest, South Carolina was the overall fastest qualifier among the 34 entrants. For his efforts in time trials, McGrew picked up the Jason Waters Tuning Fast Time Award for the weekend. McGrew was battling for the lead when he suffered a terminal engine problem which handed the lead over to Valverde. There was a furious battle for the lead among Valverde, Pickles, Smith and John Windham. Windham was forced to start a backup car on Saturday after his primary mount, which had turned in the 4th fastest time on Friday, was sidelined. Windham started from the rear of the field.

The next event for the SCDRA travelers will be the 4th Annual Xtreme 4 Shootout August 28 and 29 at Cherokee Speedway in Gaffney, South Carolina.

SCDRA / Screven Motor Speedway Results
July 18th

1. Payne Pickles
2. Andrew Smith
3. John Windham
4. Ivan Valverde
5. Jacob Bright
6. Walker Windham
7. Josh Adkins
8. Chris Mincey
9. Reid Christensen
10. Michael Crouch
11. Justin Privette
12. Nathan Barton
13. Shannon Barnhill
14. John Whisnant
15. Joey Kelly
16. Bruce Denman
17. Donavan Beachum
18. Buddy Spardley
19. Eddie McGrew
20. Dennis Adkins
21. Billy Tidwell
22. Austin Bailey
23. Casey Shane
24. Justin Stephens
25. Isaac Gipson
26. Alan Carter
27. Shannon Lang

Photo Credit: Richard Barnes

Photo Caption: Payne Pickles (05) of Suwannee, Florida holds back the charge of Pooler, Georgia's Andrew Smith (162) late in the SCDRA feature at Screven Motor Speedway on Saturday night.


The Sport Compact Dirt Racing Association would like to recognize all of their partners including Arizona Sport Shirts, Big A's Custom Graphics, ButlerBuilt, Dirt Scenes, Jason Waters Tuning, Joie of Seating, KELCAR Motorsports Media, PPM Racing Products,, Rugged Radios, Screven Motor Speedway, Simpson Race Products, Thomas Clarke Performance Web Design and Velocita USA. We encourage you to support those that support racing.


For more information on the Sport Compact Dirt Racing Association visit or call Kelley Carlton at 864-871-1442. The SCDRA is also on Facebook @scdraracing and on Twitter @scdraracing