Andrew Smith Returns to SCDRA Glory in Screven Motor Speedway's June Jam

Sylvania, Georgia - Pooler, Georgia driver Andrew Smith captured the $3000 SCDRA winner's purse of Screven Motor Speedway's June Jam on Saturday. The former Series Champion and multi-time winner grabbed the lead from Lake City, Florida's John Windham just after the halfway mark of the 30-lap feature event on the 3/8ths of a mile red clay oval.

At the outset of the action packed main event, Windham was able to take the lead from his outside starting position with Smith right in his tracks. Windham and Smith waged an all out war for the top spot for the better part of 15 laps. Smith was finally able to power by Windham on the inside on lap 17. Other than a strong bid on a lap 22 restart from Payne Pickles, Smith was able to hold the lead virtually unchallenged over the remaining laps.

Smith swept the event by collecting the Jason Waters Tuning $100 Fast Time Award with a fast lap of 18.424 seconds. Windham was second followed by Pickles, February winner Walker Windham and Ohio's Dennis Adkins in a field of 34 entries.

The next event on the SCDRA schedule will be their first-ever appearance at Lake View Motor Speedway on July 10 and 11. The event at the 4/10ths of a mile track located in Nichols, South Carolina will pay $5000 to the winner in the series' first full points event since February.

SCDRA / Screven Motor Speedway Results

June 27th

1. Andrew Smith
2. Payne Pickles
3. Dennis Adkins
4. Josh Adkins
5. Isaac Gipson
6. John Windham
7. Michael Crouch
8. Reid Christensen
9. Kenny Long
10. Joey Kelly
11. David Barrow
12. Nathan Barton
13. Walker Windham
14. Chuck Frater
15. Billy Tidwell
16. Chris Harvell
17. Wayne Risner
18. Bruce Denman
19. Roger Adkins
20. Justin Privette
21. Buddy Spradley
22. Justin Stephens
23. John Hooks
24. Jeffrey Creamer
25. Mike Meyer
26. Chris Mincey
27. Eddie McGrew
28. Gary Watson
29. Brian Balcom
30. Alan Carter
31. Logan Morris
DNS - Jordan Fowler
DNS - Robert Gullett
DNS - Robert Frohnapfel

Richard Barnes Photo


The Sport Compact Dirt Racing Association would like to recognize all of their partners including Arizona Sport Shirts, Big A's Custom Graphics, ButlerBuilt, Dirt Scenes, Jason Waters Tuning, Joie of Seating, KELCAR Motorsports Media, PPM Racing Products,, Rugged Radios, Screven Motor Speedway, Simpson Race Products, Thomas Clarke Performance Web Design and Velocita USA. We encourage you to support those that support racing.


For more information on the Sport Compact Dirt Racing Association visit or call Kelley Carlton at 864-871-1442. The SCDRA is also on Facebook @scdraracing and on Twitter @scdraracing